Skip to main content

Critical Conversations: National Archives Museum

Community Conversation
Virtual Zoom Meeting
This event has passed

Some conversations just need to happen.

Join us for a series of virtual community discussions inspired by the legacy of the US Constitution and the themes behind our free exhibition We the People: The Radical Notion of Democracy. Become part of the conversation, share your thoughts on constitutional issues that affect us all, and hear from thought leaders in civic organizations from across the nation.

This month, we’re partnering with the National Archives Museum for the latest installment of our Critical Conversations series, exploring the separation of powers and the state of American Democracy.

Separation of powers is a defining feature of the U.S. political system, one with profound implications for both the exercise of power and the performance of government functions. A panel of constitutional and legal experts will discuss the importance of this constitutional principle, how it has been tested, and what is needed to keep our democracy going.

The conversation will be moderated by William Howell, Sydney Stein Professor in American Politics at the University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy, chair of the Department of Political Science, and director of the Center for Effective Government. Our panel of constitutional scholars and legal experts includes Elizabeth B. Wydra, President of the Constitutional Accountability Center; Aziz Huq, the Frank and Bernice J. Greenberg Professor of Law at the University of Chicago and author of How to Save a Constitutional Democracy; and Jon Michaels, Professor of Law at UCLA and author of Constitutional Coup: Privatization’s Threat to the American Republic.

Free, tickets required. Reserve your spot online or with Guest Services at (479) 657-2335 today.
Once registered, you’ll receive an email with information about the event and the Zoom link for your convenience.

Presented in Partnership with the National Archives Museum.



We the People: The Radical Notion of Democracy is sponsored by Kenneth C. Griffin.

Learning and engagement programming for We the People: The Radical Notion of Democracy is sponsored by

Scholastic, Walmart, and Tyson Family Foundation logos

Sarah and Ross Perot, Jr. Foundation | Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates, & Woodyard, P.L.L.C. | Johnny and Jeanie Morris, Bass Pro Shops | Alturas Foundation | Harriet and Warren Stephens, Stephens Inc. | Sotheby’s | Bob and Becky Alexander | Marybeth and Micky Mayfield | Lamar and Shari Steiger | Jeff and Sarah Teague / Citizens Bank | Arkansas Humanities Council and the National Endowment for the Humanities | Avis and Bill Bailey | Scarlett and Neff Basore | June Carter Family | Terri and Chuck Erwin | Jackye and Curtis Finch | The Harrison and Rhonda French Family | Jim and Susan von Gremp | Laurice Hachem | Shannon and Charles Holley | Valorie and Randy Lawson / Lawco Energy Group | Donna and Mack McLarty | Steve and Susan Nelson | Neal and Gina Pendergraft | Helen Porter | JT and Imelda Rose | Lee and Linda Scott | Stella Boyle Smith Trust, Catherine and Michael Mayton, Trustees | William Reese Company